My own personal brand of hedonism

7 Mar

In the wake of Jim Carrey-inspired Yes Men (despite the fact that it was Danny Wallace who actually did it for a year) and Morgan Freeman-inspired bucket lists, I got to thinking about the fragility to life, and all that jazz. I came to a simple conclusion: why should I let anything get in the way of anything I want to do? If I fancy going for a long walk or trying to build a working lightsaber, provided I don’t let the little voices in my head convince me otherwise, even having a go at it is going to be fun and an experience in itself. I even thought of a name: (apologies for the inevitable use of some bad language, but it is all a part of the game)

My F**k It List.

Kind of like halfway between being a Yes Man, and having a bucket list. I’m not going to be a slave to trying to get the most out of life by inexorably saying yes without compunction, and I’m not going to waste possible opportunities in life by absent-mindedly focusing on something that I could end up doing by chance anyway. Let’s face it. I want to go to every country in the world before I die. North Korea is probably going to be a bit of a hurdle when it comes to this. So if, instead of wasting time trying to get there, I just let nature take its course and visit where I can visit with who I want to visit, I am bound to get so much more out of life.

So if you haven’t read the About Me, the plan is to go travelling. There is little chance of me managing to get on the property ladder, the career ladder or any kind of ladder for that matter in the UK at the moment, so I’m going to see if the rest of the world can accommodate. I’ll even keep posting here, so you can follow where I’m going.

And if it doesn’t work, f**k it.

Leave a Reply

