Packing

7 May

The neverending cycle of sorting through the interminable dross into three piles – take, leave and throw. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m probably going to have to leave my musical instruments behind, the worst case scenario is I buy some more when I’m out there. Maybe that’s a good thing – I could leave my English musical instruments behind, and invest in some truly unique and cultured ones as I travel around. I have a banjo already, but who can compete with a truly bluegrass one from the Deep South, or a pipa from China, a sitar from India?

One of the things I try to do when I’m packing is fill up my suitcase (or in this case, duffle bag) and then take out exactly half of the things I have packed. I won’t need that many clothes or things, I’m going to be on my feet a lot and I don’t want to get weighed down. It’s bad enough with all the books I carry around everywhere, they weighed me down like an anchor in Africa.

But until then, it’s just take, leave and throw. Take, leave and throw. Ignore the beehive of complaint about the AV referendum. That is completely irrelevant. If it was going to go through, more people would have voted for it. Just like, if Stephen Harper was THAT bad, he wouldn’t have got re-elected! The trivialities melt away when set against a proper backdrop, like the feasibility of getting lost in a limitless expanse of American sky in just a month’s time.

Leave a Reply

