I forgot to give this a title the first time round.

6 Jun

Hello. Sorry, I’ve been a bit rubbish recently. But the clock is ticking down, and it’s now only a few weeks before I go! I even have a tentative date for my US visa interview. I’m also slowly mapping out the next eighteen months of my life – in as much detail as my hodgepodge peripateticism will allow. I’ve also been questioning myself recently, analysing my motives and reasons behind leaving. I’m leaving a lot behind, so it might take a lot of analysis.

I also had a bombshell dropped on me last week – an £850 dental bill. I thought I’d get a check up before I left, and on account of three years of heaving drinking and smoking – the life of a student – I need a bit of stuff done. While I was initially shocked and appalled, I had a look at leaving my parents’ private practice and had a gander at NHS dentistry. And it turns out, I need half as much done as the private dentist said I’d need (would greed be a motive there?), and it’s all going to cost me only £47. It’s one of those moments where you stop being British for just long enough to stop complaining and realise how lucky we are for having this glorious National Health Service. Yeah, it’s a bit stale and bureaucratic, but when it really matters, it really helps.

I have to get back to my D-Day documentary, but I’ll be leaving soon. Keep your eyes peeled. And I’ll try to be more diligent with my updates in future.

Leave a Reply

